Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Home wheel trueing stands
  • messiah
    Free Member

Anyone on here have experience of this Jobsworth from Planet-X?

Looks like the awesome Park one I used to use when I worked in a shop but without the £250 price tag!

Any other reccomendations?

wwaswas

as long as the slots take 15/20mm axles (and you could probably cut it so it would) then looks like it’ll be fine.

Looks like it’ll take a rim with a tyre on it too which if you run tubeless is a bit of a boon as it’s less mess when you true a wheel.

RustyMac

no experience of it, but it does look remarkably similar to the park one, as does the spoke key in the customers also bought section.

I haven’t seen anything as robust looking for that price.

One thing to look out for on the park one is that the original legs were not quite long enough for 29er rims with tyres but you could get step ups

messiah
    Free Member

The Park is £190 at CRC

zbonty

You can make one for absolutely nothing if on a budget?

Ecky-Thump
    Free Member

When I visited Roger (Wheelpro) Musson a while back, he confessed to using a homemade one most of the time, on the basis that it gave better audible feedback, i.e it made a better “string instrument”.

messiah
    Free Member

I currently use an old fork and a broken frame for wheel building so the proper wheel trueing stand is not a necessity.

I’m leaning towards not buying one and continueing as I currently do.

wwaswas

I think it’s probably like most things, once you use the right tool for the job it’s difficult to see how you managed without.

messiah
    Free Member

Agree. I liked using a proper stand and at £80 its tempting, but I will only use it a couple of times a year so impossible to justify.

Rusty-Shackleford
    Free Member

messiah
    Free Member

More like this…

From this.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member