Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • HELP!! SRAM X9 10 Speed Cassette Won't fit!
  • adi66
    Free Member

So just been to pick up my new Crank Brothers Cobalt wheel set, and the bike shop told me that the SRAM 10 spd cassette wouldnt fit onto the free hub body! as it wasnt wide enough! and didnt give enough thread engagement.

I thought that 9 and 10 speed where the same width! they are arn’t they ?!!

Much faffing later, and the cassette was fitted 🙂 and then the freehub was put onto the hub…

The Hub flanges (where the spokes are laced to) clash with the inner rivet on the inside of the cassette…! Is that normal ?

I’ve read all sorts of stories about people having to file the hub away! but this will invalidate my warranty, AND I DON’T WANNA DO THAT!!

Any ideas or suggestions ?

Cheers. Adi

Jason
    Free Member

As you know I have been using the CB wheels for a couple of years, I have got through a few cassettes in that time and have never had one not fit. I have used Shimano 9spd and 10spd and SRAM 9spd, but not a SRAM 10spd. When I got the wheels they were supplied with a very thin plastic spacer (maybe 1mm) to fit behind a 9spd XT Shimano cassette to stop it touching the hub flange. The SRAM PG990 cassette I used didn’t need the thin spacer as the cassette has a different design. I have now switched to a 10spd setup with a Shimano 10spd XT cassette and have used a spacer, although it looked like it might have been ok without – the cassette didn’t touch the hub, but it looked close.

I have found 2Pure very good with their support, if you are concerned get in touch with them and I am sure they will help you out.

br
    Free Member

http://www.crankbrothers.com/support/faq_wheelset.php

Compatibility
    All crankbrothers wheels are compatible with Shimano and SRAM style 9-speed cassettes.

And Google is your friend…

http://www.rotorburn.com/forums/showthread.php?202477-Crank-Brothers-Cobalt-Wheels-XT-sprocket-set-problem