Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Help me carry my Commuting load
  • eyerideit
    Free Member

I’m about to retire my Manhattan Portage bag that’s served me well for 7 years.

So I would like to know what you STW commuters are using to lug stuff to and fro. The current bag is Ok but on a road bike isn’t very stable when fully loaded.

It will need to accommodate the tools, tubes, clothes, shoes, waterproofs, on average about 8kg.

As a French friend used to say ‘My hears are open” and I look forward to your pearls of wisdom.

simondbarnes

Panniers are the way forward.

steve_b77
    Free Member

Panniers on a proper rack is the only way of the true commuting warrior, I’ve got an Altura Urban one and it’s great, nothing’s got wet inside it yet in 2 years

Stoner
    Free Member

Carradice super c saddle bag on SQR mount for me. 18 litres of capacity. 100% waterproof. Old skool style to boot. Ive been using mine for over 5 years now. It carries my waterproofs, tools, overnight stuff if needed, netbook and chargers and flask of coffee for the train.

I fitted a shoulder strap to it for off the bike carrying. Here it is being used for touring.

eyerideit
    Free Member

I ride an 99 Kona Kapu which has no mounting hardware for racks and panniers. The LBS said the clip on ones are rubbish, so I thought a bag would be best.

mieszko
    Free Member

Holy crap, 8kg of stuff. Depends how long is your commute. I carry around 6kg and just use a Deuter ACT Trail 32 rucksack. Good harness and adjustable everything. It’s ok for my 12 mile total commute, but anything longer I would like to have the weight on the bike rather then me.

So I would say panniers or the Carradice look good as well. But again 8kg seems like a lot, I need to have frankenstein special safety shoes that weigh a ton but without them it would weight 3kg tops.

Do you need waterproofs with you all the time? Do you have full mudguards on the bike?

gonetothehills
    Free Member