Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Help buying a Rockshox Reverb Seatpost
  • heysi
    Free Member

Hi all.

I could do with a little professional help.
    I know this is probably a no-brainer for most of you, but over thought it and could do with some clear advice.

I’m considering buying a Rockshox Reverb Seatpost

I currently riding a Whyte 905 (M, 17.9″) — with a 30.9mm x 400mm seatpost.
    Great on ascends but doesn’t get low enough on the descends.

I’m looking at 30.9 355mm MMX Left 100mm travel OR 30.9 380mm MMX Left 125mm travel

As I have no experience in ‘Reverbs’ I don’t want to get one that’s too small or one that’s not worth the change?

Any help, support or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Paul

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Easy
    Look at your bike with your saddle up. Measure the amount of post showing from the frame to the rails. (Exposed Length)
    Get the tech specs or find a post in the shop and measure how much length is taken up by the collar and a different head design. (Gubbins)

Then Exposed Length – Gubbins = Amount of Drop

You then need the right amount inside the frame.
    From a previous post, simple answer as much drop as you can get away with/afford 🙂 Not sure on the “Gubbins” measurement from the current Reverb.

drummer
    Free Member

30.9 100 x 355 are really hard to find, I bought one last week from[/url]
    Ordered it on Wednesday afternoon, arrived the next day …and they pricematched Chainreaction ;o)

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    russ295
    Free Member

I went through this a few weeks ago.
    Measure from your seat post from clamp to seat rails when in your highest required position.
    A 125mm needs 190mm min showing.
    A 100mm needs 160mm min showing.
    The total length of the post is decided by what you need in the frame.
    I bought a 100/355 as I have 170mm out and 185mm in.