Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Helmets- sell by date?
  • doctornickriviera
    Free Member

As helmets are supposed to degrade over time. Should they come with a sell by date? It’s recommended they are changed every 3 years or so anyhow even without accident damage. I recently bought a helmet which when new was made in 2007 and the shop have agreed to exchange it on these grounds. After all they are an important piece of safety kit- just ask James Cracknell.

simondbarnes

Met say their helmets are good for about 8 years or so if they don’t take a knock. Sunlight will degrade them slowly over time, I doubt whether there would be much degradation (if any) from having them sat in a warehouse/shop.

doctornickriviera
    Free Member

I had a good look around the met website and couldnt find any onfo on durability of helmets on there in their online manuals. I’m no expert on this but just wondering how they degrade? UV exposure, small knocks in usual use, sodium chloride from sweaty noggins? Hair gel in Gavin hensons case?

cynic-al
    Free Member

“. Sunlight will degrade them slowly over time “

So they say, is there any evidence? is it relevant given the actual time a helmet may spend in sunlight?

doctornickriviera
    Free Member

who knows? is it forum rumour that perpetuates this idea. I have absolutely no idea if there is any science behind helmet degredation over time? Maybe i’ll e-mail GIRO and see what they say.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

My understanding is they degrade slowly with time and less slowly with UV exposure.

In a box in the dark they will be OK for many years, in a sunlight shop window they will degrade

This is certainly accepted or motorcycle helmets.

theotherjonv