• This topic has 33 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by luket.
Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Hello Dave
  • danmac
    Free Member

Looking for some input from Hello Dave owners. Im in love with the seafoam green and fully appreciate its a ‘hardcore’ hardtail. Not planning on going down the full susser route but love hardtails. Confident it will take a beating from my large arse on whatever i can throw it at, but how does it fair on general duties? Countryside and bridleway spins with the kids and family trails? Also eyeing up a Moxie in vivid pink. Any feedback welcomed

danmac
    Free Member

And just in case its still a thing…

hunta

I’m no expert, but if I’ve understood others correctly then generally the compromise of a more capable bike over the rough stuff is that it’s less comfortable for longer periods in the saddle.

From your description your family time general duties are more bimbles than 50 miler bike packing days so would have thought almost anything will be fine.

Or is that not a fair assessment?

tuboflard

Sorry, not an owner but it was on my hardtail shortlist very recently when in the market for a new hardtail.

Positives for me were a decent fork and dropper, steel frame and a good set of brakes. The latest tyres in the spec look crap though so budget in at least £100 for a new set unless you have a spare pair already.

In the end I thought the geometry was a little too much for my style of riding and wanted something which could still feel fun on smoother singletrack and social spins so went for a Ragley Big Wig instead.

And just checked on Planet X website and sold out of sea foam green too by the look of it.

oreetmon
    Free Member

My pal has one and although he’s a far better rider than I am he seems to hit steep stuff like he’s on a DH bike.

I’m now quickest on the climbs though (Solaris 2020)

tall_martin

I’m happy bumbling on mine.

It has fairly light wheels which helps.