Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Heart Rate Monitor false readings HELP!
  • vdubber67
    Free Member

I’ve been training with a HRM for a few months now.

Over the last few weeks I’ve found my HRM occasionally not working, or ‘sticking’ on particular numbers, irrespective of effort.

I checked the contacts were moist – no change. I ended up buying a new (and expensive!) HRM in frustration. This one seemed OK, then did the same thing…!

I think I’ve managed to figure out in the end that it was static from my riding tops (basically the HRM would start working again if you held the top away from your body)

Trouble is, I’m not sure how to stop this – I even bought some anti static clothes spray which doesn’t seem to work. It’s worse when I ride my road bike for some reason (flapping top in the wind?)

Anyone had this, got any thoughts on it? I wouldn’t be so stressed if it wasn’t a crucial part of my training/riding for a stage race I’m doing soon!

thomthumb
    Free Member

i had problems with my wireless computer messing around with hrm readings.

230bpm on a gentle commute!! not so sure!

vdubber67
    Free Member

Fast commute? 🙂 Not got a computer so won’t be that….

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    hazeii
    Free Member

Depends on the model probably, but I had something very similiar, the HRM would display bonkers/unchanging readings for a while, seemed like it might be down to static from clothes flapping.

Finally twigged it was vibration, esp. at speed (also riding under power lines also causes temp outages).

Richie_B