Health Insurance for working abroad but remaining UK resident?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Health Insurance for working abroad but remaining UK resident?
  • Anyone on here bought this before? I’m struggling to find anyone that covers UK resident doing 28/28 rota in Mediterranean but non-EU/non-EEA country. They’re all as if I’m going to be expat/resident overseas and as such are eye-wateringly expensive.

Premier Icon kelvin
    Subscriber

So, you’ll spend 50% of your time outside the UK, working in a country without a reciprocal health care agreement?

Premier Icon BoardinBob
    Subscriber

I do this for a living. 2 questions

1) why isn’t your employer sorting health insurance for you
    2) have you checked what the local laws are in your work location regarding health insurance. Buying offshore may not satisfy local requirements

Sounds as though you’ll be 6 months outside your home country. That qualifies you as an “expat” in the eyes of the expat health insurance industry

mashr

1) why isn’t your employer sorting health insurance for you

This

That qualifies you as an “expat” in the eyes of the expat health insurance industry

That wouldn’t be repatriation cover though would it?

sweaman2

Are you on land or physically offshore on a boat or rig etc?

Premier Icon BoardinBob
    Subscriber

That wouldn’t be repatriation cover though would it?

No, more from a general health care cost perspective. 50% of time outside the UK = premiums have to reflect healthcare costs in the work location

You’re not getting evacuated or repatriated if the standard of care is acceptable in your work location

It’s offshore Israel. I’m guessing healthcare in Israel is pretty good so I doubt I’d be repatriated. I’m told by the company I’m working for that the rig operator “probably covers” me, but as I’m a contractor rather than staff nobody can give me a definitive answer and I’d rather not chance it.