Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Hardtail Help – Scandal vs. Big Al
  • hunta

I’ve been riding a Giant Trance for the last 10 years and not really ridden anything else, but now feel like adding a 29″ hardtail. I mostly ride woods and fields with the odd trip to Swinley and Surrey Hills and intend to keep the full sus as an option on anything bigger. Budget is a factor, but I quite like the idea of new.

I’m still getting to grips with geometry theory in the absence of being able to demo. I’m hoping that might change at some point this year, but in the meantime…

It sounds like ‘modern’ trends are giving rise to a crop of bikes that’ll climb well, be reasonably comfortable for more than an hour at a time and can absorb the downs. I’m far from a rowdy rider so just looking for something that’ll take the above in its stride and feel good, rather than necessarily being the quickest.

I saw Hardtail Party’s Big Al review and would be looking seriously at buying one in a normal year, but that ship now seems to have sailed. It looks like the Scandal might have more availability, geometry seems to be in a similar ballpark and they seem to have an avid following here.

So I guess my questions are (1) how does the Big Al compare to the Scandal (2) and given how hard it is to find stock at the moment let alone demo am I better off waiting, or can I put my faith in the geometry figures?

davros

There’s a big thread about the scandal so plenty of info there. Someone might be able to link it if the search still isn’t working. Seems to be well liked. I doubt you could go wrong with either. That Whyte frame in the classified might be worth considering if it’s right size?

hunta

Thanks davros. Yes, I’ve tried to skim the Scandal thread but was specifically hoping to hear about similarities / differences vs. Big Al since geo looks close-ish on paper, but that presumably doesn’t tell the full story.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member