Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Guinea pigs – what do I need to know?
  • petrieboy

My 10 year old son wants a guinea pig. I have no experience or pets other than dogs and we don’t know anyone who has a guinea pig.
    I need to find out what we’ll need, how we look after them and where to get them from
    Is there a guinea pig track world?? Tell me what your know

DickBarton

Get 2…they don’t work so well on their own. If you get 2 make sure they are same sex.
    Daughter has 2…and I’m about to clean them out as she isn’t here. They are quite easy to look after, feed twice a day and quick clean up of hutch and a proper clear out twice a week. The hutch clean up takes a half hour, the daily feed/sweep is a 10-minute job.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Don’t invite any Peruvians to dinner.

mrsheen
    Free Member

Dandelion leaves are your friend.

simondarlo
    Free Member

Very tasty apparently

joshvegas
    Free Member

Wooooot wooot woot.

RIP mario

daviek

They stink if you miss a clean by a day and aren’t very sociable unless you have food or hear they rustling of a plastic bag, this may have been our fault though as i think they need lots of handling when young to get used to the idea
    They are quite cute but I dont think we’ll have any more

lambchop
    Free Member

As said get 2. Girls are less smelly apparently. They eat lots of fresh veg, guinea pig nuggets from pets at home as a supplement and hay, lots of hay.

Ours lived inside, they become so friendly the more human contact they get. You can cuddle them and they purr like kittens. Inside you can use a plastic cage which is easy to clean. Layer newspaper on bottom of cage then a couple of inches of wood shavings. When you come to clean it out you can roll the shavings up in the newspaper like a Swiss roll and place in a bin bag, or compost.

Great pets, very easy to keep.

hols2
    Free Member

Savage if not fed regularly.

kayak23