• This topic has 18 replies, 15 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by aP.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Groupset trickledown
  • eyerideit
    Free Member

Shimano have announced Ultegra 11spd, so how long do you reckon it’ll take until we see 11spd 105?

shermer75
    Free Member

It seems to happen pretty quick these days, maybe next year?

Mister-P
    Free Member

The normal Shimano cycle would mean that 11 speed 105 would be 2015 product, launch mid 2014.

ahwiles
    Free Member

can anyone tell me how/why this is an improvement?

Northwind

1 louder innit.

boxfish
    Free Member

One faster than 10 speed innit

Rorschach
    Free Member

You get 16 in the 11-25 or you can have an 11-25….with an emergency 28 tacked on top.

whatnobeer
    Free Member

I’ve been running 11 speed campag for about 3 years. The only real improvement is you have a tighter block cassette, so smaller jumps between the cogs. Or you could run a wider cassette than normal (say 12-25 instead of 12-23) and have the extra cog fill in the extra space.

binners

eyerideit
    Free Member

Well I’ve got nine speed so it’d be two faster/betterer for me – innit.

ahwiles
    Free Member

binners: my thoughts exactly.

it’ll just mean ‘one more click to get to the gear you want’

redted
    Free Member

The biggest gripe for me is that it requires a dedicated 11sp freehub body, not great when you think how many people have shelled out for pairs of trick aftermarket wheels in recent years. I can see road disc brakes being slow to catch on too for this reason too.

clubber
    Free Member

redted – I’ll bet that most bikes are bought complete which means that the issue of existing wheels is a non-issue…

It might well mean though that you don’t see them on the road racing circuit in the UK as much as the sportive/recreational one though.

it’ll just mean ‘one more click to get to the gear you want’