Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Great Expectations
  • noteeth
    Free Member

The (critical) opening sequence was suitably menacing… and Miss Havisham was somehow reminiscent of Noel Fielding, which also added to the effect.

corroded
    Free Member

Hoping to catch it on iPlayer as I was out-voted in favour of Three Hackneyed Comedians in a Boat. It’s one of my favourite books (actually they both are).

swollen
    Free Member

Wasn’t as good as I’d thought it was going to be…………

noteeth
    Free Member

I thought the younger Pip was excellent – although Pip mk II is a bit too clean-cut. Lean’s film will always cast a long shadow over any other adaptation.

Ray Winstone rules, however.

SBrock
    Free Member

I studied it at A Level over 25 years ago, loved the book. I actually enjoyed it last night, looking forward to it tonight and tomorrow.

jon1973
    Free Member

Ray Winstone was awesome as normal. I really enjoyed it. Beautifully shot. The BBC doing what it does best.

SBrock
    Free Member

I agree, i t looked great on screen!

Wally

Loved it also.

avdave2

It was good but I think the writer missed a trick or two. I think he should have had a burning building with all the main characters running in and out of it at various points while we sat riveted on the edge of our seats trying to guess who would die.

roady_tony
    Free Member

got Gillian in it, nuff said.
    Miss Havisham, Miss Ravisham 😉

rewski
    Free Member

Best thing I’ve seen this festive period, not watched a lot yet though, was The Dr any good?

King-ocelot
    Free Member

I agree with noteeth young pip was really good, older pip was too well turned out too quickly. I thought it was very well cast, including Pip 2 (he just needed to be a bit grubby and rough round edges) the Blacksmiths house looked fantastic in some of the wider shots. Looking forward to it later.

deluded
    Free Member

I like the way it’s been shot with a dark and bleak, desaturated look.