• This topic has 18 replies, 15 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by jfab.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Gravel/Road wheelset recommendations- £1k
  • meandyuk

I’m looking to upgrade the stock wheels on my gravel bike. There seems to be so many options at this price it’s hard to decide – currently I am between some zipp 303s or campagnolo shamal db, both get good reviews online.

Any others I should consider?

Cheers
    Andy

onewheelgood

I’ve been very happy with my Hunt Carbon Gravel Wides.

jodafett

I’ve been very happy with my Hunt Carbon Gravel Wides.

Agree with this though I have little experience of decent wheels. I also bought a set of 650b wheels for the bike but very rarely fit them, if that helps!

rOcKeTdOg

zipp 303s are reasonable weight and the hubs are easy to service, no idea on campag but if they are like every other campag product ime they’ll have some proprietary part that the UK Distributor never has in stock

FFWD drift carbon wheels were great when I reviewed them but at the time they were £500 over your budget, not sure on price now

rt60
    Free Member

Parcours Alta are worth a look

titusrider
    Free Member

If you can stretch to them, Stayer handbuilt on dt Swiss hubs will last you a lifetime and are a lovey stiff, strong and puncture free wheel. Plus supporting a lovey small business.
    My gravel ones were so good I ordered a road pair, and don’t get hunt, bearings an are made of cheese, tyres are a nightmare to get on and my road pair were flexy as hell.

Gravel Adventure

mrb123
    Free Member

Farsports or Light Bicycle with DT 350 hubs.

honourablegeorge

Scribe do some well reviewed ones. Hunt also well teviewed and 15% off right now.

rOcKeTdOg

Stayer handbuilt on dt Swiss hubs will last you a lifetime and are a lovey stiff, strong and puncture free wheel

I’ve never had a puncture on any wheel, tyres however are a different story 😉

monkeyboyjc