Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • GPS devices for (primarily road) navigation
  • Bez

Firstly, let me state that I’ve got about 15 years’ experience of using around eight or nine different devices for road navigation, and I’m a fussy git (as my comparison of Garmin and Wahoo probably demonstrates in quite tedious fashion).

There are things I like about Garmin (the through-junction navigation, the lack of need to set up cue points when planning a route, the usefulness of the map when zoomed out) and things I hate about Garmin (the faff in getting a route onto the device, a couple of usability niggles, and the general unreliability and idiosyncratic nature of them along with Garmin’s reluctance to fix things). Equally there are things I love about Wahoo (the ease of getting routes on the device, the clear display, the generally much smoother user experience) and things I hate about Wahoo (mainly their near-uselessness when you’re forced to deviate from your planned route and the fact that the app drained my phone battery, even when I wasn’t riding).

Nothing out there is perfect, I know that, but I’m a late adopter (read cheapskate) and so I’m a little behind the curve on things.

So my questions are these:

– Any Wahoo users noticed any changes or improvements in navigation functionality in the last 6 months’ firmware updates? Or any changes to phone battery usage in the same time?

– Any Garmin 1000/Explore users found their device to be much more reliable than an 800/Touring?

– To get routes wirelessly onto a Wifi/Bluetooth enabled Garmin do you have to go via Garmin Connect?

– Anyone able to comment on the stability/reliability of the 520 Plus yet?

– Anyone able to offer any experience with the Karoo Hammerhead?