Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Gore Shakedry and mud
  • ratherbeintobago

As above. How well does Gore Shakedry fabric last in the mud?

bloodyshins
    Free Member

I’ve been using a gore R7 jacket for a couple of months. Got to say it’s without a doubt the best functioning jacket I’ve ever owned. Got it 40% off at wheelbase. Despite no vents it breathes better than my old burghaus vapour storm goretex active shell that has loads of venting. The beading on it in the rain is something to behold. Seems absolutely fine in the mud and it’s not ripped yet despite regularly catching it on bushes etc. I have been babying it a bit to avoid unnecessary abrasion & unless I’m going up a proper mountain I tend not to wear a bag. I wash it at 20 deg with pure liquid soap (same as tech wash but cheaper) in a net delicates bag, no spin and just shake it a few times and hang up. I’ve not crashed in it yet mind. Not sure how well it’d hold up to a tumble, it’s so thin but I feel that the function is totally worth it. With no DWR to fail (no matter how much nickwax you use it’s never the same as new) it should keep working like it does until I inevitably tear it to bits.

rone

Same as above.

I put mine in a 30 wash with regular detergent. Only thing I do if it’s very muddy is wash it separate.

Great jackets , I’ve got the insulated one and regular. Both are a little odd fit. Very long arms and short front!

Great so far. No rips or tears.

Haven’t really fell of bike in a long while, worth the risk for the benefits by a long shot.

BadlyWiredDog

I wouldn’t have though mud would make any difference tbh. Gore doesn’t recommend it for use with a pack because it has limited abrasion resistance – essentially the membrane is on the outside – but stuff landing on it shouldn’t make any difference to anything.