Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Good value UST tyres choices please
  • swisstony
    Free Member

Hi,

I’ve always used 2.5 High Rollers but fancy shedding a few pounds so am looking for something a bit lighter but not too light that they pinch, still at least a 2.3 and also something that’s not £35+

I know i can get 2.35 HR’s which are top of the list at the mo but what else do people favour?

ta

solamanda
    Free Member

As you said, I run 2.35 standard single ply non-ust highrollers + stans. Works a treat for an xc bike.

swisstony
    Free Member

thanks, sorry should have said i have used non ust’s before but i’m looking for ust at the mo.

racing_ralph
    Free Member

For which bike?

scruff
    Free Member

Bonty Jones ACX TLR, Ive been running them for a couple of months now with latex on 819s. Very good all rounders, replaced my too slow High Roller USTs. Grippy enough, quick rollingish not too heavy or too light. Im getting some more for my other bike.

http://bontrager.com/model/02863/en

racing_ralph
    Free Member

thats what i use and they are v.good. The side nobles are a little flexy on hardpack though

swisstony
    Free Member

thanks, i’ve got a bonty to try, off you actually Rob, bit i haven’t fitted it as i thought the sidewall was a bit thin, i’ll try it on the front though if i can repair it.

they will be for my prophet and stiffee on mavic crossmax’s and 819’s, riding in the peaks, fast and clumsily!

mboy
    Free Member

Another vote for Jones ACX 2.35″ here. Light and very grippy for a tyre its size, surprisingly rolls pretty well too, which you wouldn’t think looking at it!

Don’t know where’s the cheapest, but pretty sure I saw them for about £22.50 each somewhere online.

Otherwise as Solamanda says, 2.35 Single Ply High Rollers would be just the job.

scruff
    Free Member

I got mine from Swinnertons.

DezB
    Free Member