Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 61 total)
  • getting women involved.
  • funkhouser
    Free Member

i get so much grief for going out on my bike, its kind of fair enough with working away and what-not but its who i am.
    was just thinking, one way to get over this is to maybe get her involved? she might love it, she might be a natural, we could go on biking holidays together and everything!!
    trouble is breaking the ice, she’ll need a bike/helmet/lycras etc, i suppose she could use my HT at first, but i just dont fancy babysitting a total novice. i know that sounds selfish but like i said my rides are limited to once a week so make an effort to go big or far. i dont want to pair her off with a friend becasue they’ll just idle along chatting, id like her to ride with me so she can see what its all about. i was thinking of visiting a trail centre where i can push it has hard as i want and she can follow swerving the tricky bits. i wouldnt race off and leave her or owt, but i could session stuff while she catches up..?

anyone had any joy with this or is best left well alone?

matt_outandabout

I would not load up the expectation of buying all the gear – rent a good bike somewhere nice, take it real easy, possibly have some other WaGs along type pootle.

Do not ride off, do not put climb or descend. Stay behind or alongside. This ride is for her, not you.

If you cannot do that, leave well alone and take your selfish ride.

If you can, the futures bright….mrs_oab loves a nice bike ride…

Callander House Falkirk MTB trails by matt_outandabout, on Flickr

mikewsmith
    Free Member

i was thinking of visiting a trail centre where i can push it has hard as i want and she can follow swerving the tricky bits. i wouldnt race off and leave her or owt, but i could session stuff while she catches up..?

Sounds wonderful, just checking you have met women haven’t you?