• This topic has 13 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by br.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Getting paid as a contractor
  • the00
    Free Member

I’m a self employed contractor with my own LTD compmay. Up to now my contracts have been with multinational companies, who insist on paying contractors through an agency. I submit a timesheet on a weekly basis, and then an invoice every 4wks (I had the option to invoice weekly, but that sounded like a bit more faff). The invoice gets paid within a week. I don’t know when or how the agency gets paid, but their input is minimal so their fee is pretty small (<1%).

I guess that if I was contracted to the end client directly, then I would have to accept slightly longer payment terms – that seems normal with most contracts I have seen.

However, I have been lined up with a job for a consultancy, who would want to farm me out to an end client. For this their cut is greater (~20%). Their ‘standard contract’ states that my company would get paid 5 days after they get paid by the client. This is likely to be at least 30 days, typically 45 days, and up to 60 days.

This is new to me, but is it common?

I feel a little wary considering that me getting paid is based on the payment of a contract of which I have no viability or control. To my mind that it means that the consultant company is carrying almost zero risk from not getting paid, which is not reflected in their margin.

coconut
    Free Member

No…tell them they’re bang out of order and stuff it..

coconut
    Free Member

Err… on second thoughts.. their contract so up to them really

xora

20% is way on the high side for that “service” but its a pretty standard way to sub-contract.

footflaps

Put your rates up 20%….

30-60 days for paying contractors is not unusual. I’d like to know what happens if they are late paying though…

Sundayjumper

Yep, back-to-back payments is not unusual.

deadkenny
    Free Member