Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Getting “desire lines” cleared of brambles in country park
  • tall_martin

Hi,

I took my hedge trimmers down to my local country park today to clear the face high brambles that have grown over my favourite trails.

After about 1min a pair of very irate council blokes turned up. Almost like I was some numpty waving power tools around without permission…

Have you got permission? err. Have you got signs?, Errr. Have you got safety gear? Err. Have you risk assessed this? Err. Wildlife, kids, what if you cut yourself and bleed to death…..

So no trail clearing for me as a private individual on the country park. I don’t quite know why this wasn’t obvious to me before I started. Anyway it is now.

I’ve never quite been sure if riding a mountain bike is ok there. I’ve been riding there for 15 years and have passed loads of council folk who have never said anything, so I assumed it was fine. They absolutely did not say it was ok to ride there, but didn’t say it wasn’t ok to ride a bike. They were very clear on the no trail clearing.

They were also quite clear that the trail I was clearing was a “desire line”. I’ve never come across that term before. I seems to be that they have to maintain paths, but not desire lines.

So no guerilla gardening for me.

If still like the brabmles cleared. How do I go about doing it properly?

Can I voulenteer, get trained, risk assessed and all the other thinks I didn’t have today and then do it?

I’m asking on here before phoning the council as some trails local to me got demolished by the forestry commission. This might have been after some people asked if they could maintain them, or it might have been the jumps increasing in size. Either way I am not convinced that the council will be happy about the stated goal being to ride down an unsafe trail as fast as possible.

Help or experience would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

DezB
    Free Member