Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Getting a bit bored of the Peak bridleways…
  • fitnessischeating
    Free Member

So, I do realise that this will probably make me come across as a bit of a “aren’t I so good tit” but I promise that it’s not the case. I really don’t think that I’m particularly good, and want to get better, that’s the point, I am 30 not 15, and get a bit scared of wheels of the ground stuff.
    /disclaimer

I have been riding for a couple of years now and am Nottingham based, so most riding has been in the peak. Now I read a lot on here that the Peak is really rocky and technical/scary. But having taken trips to Canada (Squarmish/Whistler) and Scotland (Glentress/Inners), I just find no down hills “technically” challenging in the peaks anymore (riding generally off the dark/white peak books).

They are all (seemingly) wide rocky descents where the challenge is avoiding walkers, and not really steep enough to be “interesting”. Basically nothing I come across makes me want to stop, get off and have a look at, or feel nervous riding (on a 130mm fs).

To put this in perspective, the other day I forgot my helmet, and our ride encompassed, The Beast descent to Ladybower “one of the hardest most technical descents in the peaks, will make you wish for 6” of travel and a full face”. And I wasn’t concerned about riding it, I just thought, I’ll go a bit slower. Similarly people laud Cave Dale as really hard “needing trials skills to get down” and this seems to be pretty straight forward.

So to the nub of this long winded post:
    I know that there must be plenty of more interesting stuff (Wharncliffe etc…) to explore that is off the guidebooks.

I think I need to find some better riders to ride with to continue to improve.
    Anyone with patience willing to let me tag along on a ride this weekend sometime and show me some fun stuff off the beaten, walker littered Peak tracks?

steveh