Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Garmin Edge 500 issues
  • Gary_M
    Free Member

I went out for a ride yesterday and before leaving I turned on my Garmin Edge 500, which then froze on the start up ‘garmin’ screen. I left it on thinking it would eventually start but it didn’t.

Got home and the garmin then came alive with the ‘movement detected – press start’ screen. Helpful as I’d finished my ride. Switched it off, then on and it froze again so left it on, it shut down automatically after the usual time, switched on again and it worked okay. And again worked fine on this mornings commute.

Plugged it in to my laptop to upload data and its just hanging on the ‘Reading activities from Edge 500 (Unit ID xxxxx…, please wait…’ screen. I did manage to upload this mornings ride manually.

Any idea whats going on with it? I did a master reset yesterday but it’s still misbehaving.

Just turned it on again and it is at least booting up.

Sandwich

Is the firmware up to date? Maybe a reset and then re-install the firmware via web-updater.

Gary_M
    Free Member

Yes its running the latest firmware. How do you do a reset to wipe everything?

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Check the section in the instructions on how to format.

Gary_M
    Free Member

I did a reset yesterday as per the instructions on the garmin site but it kept all ride data and only erased the set up details. I thought a master reset would erase everything then I could do a fresh install. This doesn’t seem to have worked though.

stufive
    Free Member

I had similar problems with a 500 i went through garmin help and they couldnt..so i was offered a fix price replacement for £68 so i took it..i thought it was quite good for a 3 year old machine turned out mine was water damage

Gary_M
    Free Member

mmm its just over a year old and not had any water near it for weeks, lets hope its not totally knackered. I can upload the ride data manually.

Leigh
    Free Member