Front mech trim – end of tether…..

Home Forum Bike Forum Front mech trim – end of tether…..

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Front mech trim – end of tether…..
  • kendo954

you know it has a micro?? shift to move the mech in/out slightly without actually moving the chain from 1 ring to the other, yeah?

Premier Icon Northwind
    Subscriber

Nuclear option of single ring + mtb cassette?

retro83

is the angle of the mech right? On my mountain bike I have to angle the mech slightly diagonally to stop it rubbing in big/small. Not much, just a mm or 2

kendo954 – Member

you know it has a micro?? shift to move the mech in/out slightly without actually moving the chain from 1 ring to the other, yeah?

can’t do that on the big ring, can you?

glupton1976

My Campag has 5 trim settings.

That information is of absolutely no use to you though. 😀

iamsporticus

Hi

Ive been bodging with my front mech for 12 months and its still not right. Theres one last roll of the dice which Id like to take advice on before one of us does the decent thing with a ritual disembowelling cutlass – which I hope isnt me

OK the facts:

Road set up, Shimano 105 double
    Chain rubs on outside (ie away from bike) of cage in 2 highest gears ie the 2 small ones 🙂
    Adjustment screws are all fine, and more movement has the chain off
    Cage is aligned with chain properly
    Its currently as good as its been after winding up the cable tension possibly a bit too tight, as in when I shift down at the front to the smaller ring its a bit sluggish to make the shift

The next step is to move the mech either up or down
    Ive tried every other variable leaving this as my last shot

The question is which way first?
    Any ideas well received, especially informed ones 🙂

I just cant work out where its rubbing and how it will change by moving it in this plane hence the question