Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Fox float DPS too stiff
  • violentpuree
    Free Member

Hi! I’m hoping someone here might know what’s happening with my shock. I own a GT Sensor Elite that has a Fox float DPS shock. It’s my first FS bike, so I’m new to setting up the shock. In the beginning it felt alright and I could only compare it to a hardtail. Now that I’ve tried different bikes I understand that my shock is way to stiff, there’s no plushness whatsoever. If I want to set the sag to 30% and for it to be somewhat plush I need to set the pressure to no more than 100psi any higher than that it becomes almost rock solid. And according to Fox I have to set it to around 198psi (since I weight 90kg). With that much pressure I can hardly get the shock to move without bouncing on the bike with all my weight.

When I’m pumping the shock the switch is in the open position and I compress it slowly every 25-50 psi to equalise the pressure in the negative/positive chambers, so I feel like I’m doing everything correctly.

Is there something else I should do or is it a sign that the shock is faulty or needs rebuilding?

benpinnick

It definitely sounds like the shock isnt equalising. When you pump it from 0 go to say 50 PSI then equalise. You should see a fair drop in pressure. If it remains at 50 you know something is wrong. I have found with Fox they are more fickle than RockShox to get to equalise.

tdog
    Free Member

On the other end of the spectrum, I have found my DPS EVOL to be the best air shock I have ever used yet.

I have it on 1 for softness in open mode and run 30psi above my weight in lbs but that can be attributed to the suspension design for initial compression for this frame that I have.