Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Fox Air Can Service – STW Expert Help Please!
  • doug_basqueMTB.com

I’m about to do the air can service on my Rp23. The instructions seem pretty clear, remove air from shock, then shock from bike, then pull and unscrew air can, clean, add FOX FLOAT FLUID, reassemble.

I don’t have the rebuild kit because I’m just wanting to open and clean and am not planning on replacing the o-rings etc because all that seems sound and there’s no loss of air or anything.

So a couple of questions – 1. wtf is Fox Float Fluid?? 2. Is it as easy as it sounds?

I’ve never done this before as I’d usually just send everything to TF once a year but that’s not practical at the moment.

petetheplumber
    Free Member

Its very easy, don’t now the fox fluid wt but I have also used 7.5wt oil that worked fine. The fox fluid seems heaver than 7.5wt.

doug_basqueMTB.com

Cheers Pete. I’ve got some 5 and some 10wt, I’ll shove in the 10wt and see how I get on.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Unscrew the can by hand BEFORE you remove the shock from the bike!

Davy
    Free Member

Doug, the Float fluid is not the same as the damping oil. It’s much more viscous, as it’s solely designed to lubricate the seals etc.
    To be honest, it’s worth investing in a rebuild kit, as there’s a very good chance that you’ll damage the seals as you pull the air can off. You get a full set of seals, and a sachet of float fluid for a tenner.

KINGTUT
    Free Member

To be honest, it’s worth investing in a rebuild kit, as there’s a very good chance that you’ll damage the seals as you pull the air can off.

I you’re a ham fisted oaf, I service mine once a month and have only replaced the seals once in 14 months.

IA

Float fluid is more like 85wt gearbox oil, no where near the same as 7.5wt damping fluid!