Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Flow EX and Hope Pro 2 Evo SP – How do you find them?
  • jamj1974

I am looking to build up some new wheels. Currently thinking I may go for Stans Flow EX on Hope Pro 2 EVO SP. I have no personal experience of Stans Rims. How have people found them, in particular what are the Flows like in use? Had several sets of Hope hubs with no issues in the past – are they still as reliable? Also haven’t had straight pull hubs since some Pullstar hubs a very long time ago… Has anyone had any issues with them?

Fill me in!

jamj1974

Bumped for the early’ish risers.

chiefgrooveguru

I have Flows on Pro 2 Evo J-bend. The old Flows are great – I’ve smacked them into and through a lot on my hardtail and they take it all happily. Nice wide profile so you can run big tyres at low pressure without rolling or burping. The new EX version are even wider and only fractionally heavier, so I suspect I’d like them even more. I have the conventional pull spokes because everyone seemed to say that the straight pull ones are more hassle to build, tweak and find replacements for.

rondo101
    Free Member

Both my wife and I have flow ex on pro2 evos and have found the same as above. Hans Dampfs come up REALLY big!
    Also went for j bend spokes for same reason as above. SP looks good, but I don’t want the potential extra hassle if something goes wrong on a trip away.

br
    Free Member

I’ve run two sets of Hope Hoops (Pro 2 evo SP on Crests) for the past couple of years – tubeless so don’t want to fanny around changing tyres.

No problems at all, and you get a couple of spare spokes per wheel – so just stick a couple in your go-away ‘spares’.

smatkins1
    Free Member

I got a pair in january and have never looked back. Do you have a reason for opting for sp spokes? That goes against alot of the advice which appears on this forum.

reggiegasket
    Free Member