flat pedals and shoes

Home Forum Bike Forum flat pedals and shoes

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • flat pedals and shoes
  • Premier Icon rockthreegozy
    Subscriber

Shimano MP90 or FiveTen Basics

These pedals

Premier Icon mboy
    Subscriber

Budget? It's largely dependant on what to recommend…

Some pedals are £150, some £15. No point recommending mega expensive ones if you can't afford them!

But if your budget can stretch, I can't recommend Easton Flatboy's (£65) enough… They're bombproof and mega grippy.

Trainers wise, get some Vans with a waffle sole… For about £40-45… Or if you're made of money, get some 5-10's. But if you buy Flatboy's, you won't need 5-10's, Vans are more than grippy enough on the Flatboys.

Premier Icon Teetosugars
    Subscriber

Five Tens & Straightlines work well for me..

beefy

I use DMR v12's, have done for years, really grippy, bearings last forever, I have never changed them and I have been running this pair for about 9 years. Shoes wise, I am not a fan of 5.10's, they are grippy, but not that good for our weather (IMO). I use Shimano AM40's they are terrific, really grippy, stiff and incredibly weather proof, they feel like proper riding shoes and they have a big velcro strap over the laces, which makes them really secure.

stevede

Superstar nano techs/kona wah wah's (pretty much the same pedal), shimano am40 shoes if you can handle the dodgy design – had 5.10's before these and found they had too much grip (difficult repositioning feet if they happened to end up in the wrong position) and were too bulky.

coogan

Wellgo B54's are awesome pedals. Have two sets, one nearly 4yrs old and never had to take them apart. A bargain at £25 too.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=5199

biker66

Vans are very grippy , look cool, and if you wait 'till the sales you can get them for 20 quid a pair.

TractorFrog