Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Exploring by Bike
  • johnellison
    Free Member

Does anyone else actually do this any more, or is it just me?

For me, one of the great joys of getting out in the country on my bikes is to go exploring and finding new bits of trail, to see if I can link one part to the next.

I see a lot of posts there along the lines of “is there any good riding around x/y/z?”

Now, I appreciate that it’s often a good idea to get a bit of local knowledge if you’re just visiting the area for a day or two and want a “quick fix”; or if you are a complete noob and don’t know where to start; but when you’re asking about the area where you actually live, isn’t it one of the joys to get a map of the area and try to string a loop together before going out to try it out?

Or am I weird?

theblackmount
    Free Member

Fellow weirdo here…..and the more ambitious and challenging the better.

Pretty much all my riding is channeled into training for & planning the next big loop. If it’s sh1t riding I just shrug it off – I’ll still have had a good day in the hills.

jwr

That’s exactly what I do when I’m riding alone. I just enjoy pootling round exploring the hills/woods. Probably much easier up here in Scotlandshire. I almost always log to a GPS too so that I can map things out and easily plan new routes when riding with other people.

kimbers

Definately I like doing it in urban areas too, underpasses, industrial estates etc

these days my time is limited for proper rides, family, work etc Ive only recently had the chance when Im on holiday, so if im heading out on a proper ride I like to know its gonna be easy to cover as much distance as possible, which means waymarked trails etc

jam-bo

i wonder where that goes…‘ has found me both some great riding and some truly shit riding.

8yrs living nr the quantocks and I still hadn’t found everything. 6 yrs living next to dartmoor and i’m not even close.

nick1962
    Free Member