Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 73 total)
  • Existential (MTB) Crisis
  • vonplatz
    Free Member

Background: I have been riding for 10 years more or less. In that period I came off trying to do a jump without knowing any proper technique and broke my collarbone. That was about 8 years ago. I needed surgery and was off work for two months. Upon returning to work, I was fired. This was becuase of other factors apart from the time off but I still think to this day that if I hadn’t of taken two months sick leave when I did I would not have lost my job.

Fast forward to now and I am currently recovering from another crash. I have broken three vertabra t5, 7 and 11 and have whiplash like symptoms in the cervical spine. I am now in my 8th week off work. I went to a Bike park and was paralysed by fear of crashing leading me to roll off a drop instead of committing and landing on my head.

My relationship with my wife has been strained since the accident. She has had to take on more responsibility in caring for our two children and she is angry with me for causing this problem in our family unit.

We are looking to purchase a new home and yestearday, after seeing one we like she has expressed that before she is ready to commit to buying the house, she wants me to stop mountain biking or she would like to end the relationship. Her argument is that apart from the money I spend on it, apart from the time it separates me from my family she considers it selfish of me to put a hobby over my own safety and responsibility to my family.