Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Engineers – CAD/FEA for a complete beginner/non-engineer
  • Tom_W1987
    Free Member

I’d like to design a new rocker link for my Reign.

I’m starting with exactly no experience in Engineering – coming from a Biology background, however I do have a good grounding in statistics that goes a bit beyond what most Biologists have.

So can anyone recommend the probably several textbooks/guides that I need?

stevied
    Free Member

I made a new linkage for my old Intense as they were no longer available.
    Just used the hole centres/sizes and worked around that. Ended up with a stiffer/lighter linkage than the original 🙂
    Had a lot of help with the CAD side of things from a very kind soul on here..
    Old:

New:

Tom_W1987
    Free Member

Awesome, it’s just that I want to change the design quite considerably to make it more progressive, decrease the leverage ratio and accommodate metric sizing, like Transition have done. Maybe I can get away with no doing a stress analysis? Or perhaps I can convince an engineer mate of mine in GE to do that side of it – but he does 65 odd hour weeks so I’m not so sure.

Lovely bit of work there.

davidtaylforth
    Free Member

FEA is probably not required. Just err on the side of caution and put some radiuses on it like Steve’s linkage

thomthumb
    Free Member

make it similar, but a different shape. IE, use similar wall thickness, in similar places. If it’s currently 5mm use 5 mm.

Pretty rough, but i think it’d do.

Tom_W1987
    Free Member

Awesome, this is giving me the confidence that I can actually pull this off. Cheers guys. Time to tear down the rear linkage this weekend.