Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Enduroists – cyclists/ runners/ – is this usual?
  • bex
    Free Member

So 5 days ago, Easter Sunday (hope that reference doesn’t offend) I did my first ultramarathon, a 50k. I hit my goal time of under 4 hours 30 minutes, I was second female and 19th overall of a starting field of 238. But I feel nothing. Nada. Zilch. Physically, I feel better than after my one and only marathon last year (I’m new to this running malarkey) but have nothing of the euphoria and gratification of achieving that particular goal of a sub 3.30. Mentally, I’m a headcase – I can’t concentrate, I can’t sleep, I can’t eat but I’ve put on 4 pounds…The only thing that has registered on the happy-o-meter is entering other events for later in the year. I’ve read that ultras affect people in an entirely different way to other races, but it’s only 6 extra miles for crying out loud. Is this normal or do I need to WFU?

imnotverygood

It’s just a race
    HTH

globalti
    Free Member

Why did you run all the way? Did you forget your bike?

nedrapier

Nice running! Is it just an anti climax? Lots of excitement and good feelings from the training and build up, then a decent result and just the possibility of doing more training and more racing?

Do you need to bam it up a notch further to get that sense of accomplishment?

jemima
    Free Member

Maybe you’re still tired? I certainly would be!

nickc

I’ve felt this as well. I think the effort of the planning and training and all that goes with it can sometimes mean that the actual completion of the event is ‘just’ another tick in the box, you planned it trained it, did it.

Take some time to reflect on it. It’s a massive achievement after all, I think it just sometimes takes time to sink in. Perhaps you need to think about doing some different types of events that push you outside your comfort zone?

stevemuzzy
    Free Member