Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 116 total)
  • Ending National Pay Rates
  • kimbers

tieing earnings to local cost of living

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-17411117

seems to me that poorer areas will end up with lower quality staff, teachers being a prime example

thegreatape
    Free Member

Or even no staff.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

why should we overpay for regional conditions?

jimbobrighton
    Free Member

it’s hard to fault the logic – is it fair that a teacher based in surrey, for instance should enjoy a poorer quality of life than one based in cumbria.

kimbers – Member
    tieing earnings to local cost of living

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-17411117

seems to me that poorer areas will end up with lower quality staff, teachers being a prime example

So using your logic rich areas currently attract poorer quality staff. Really?

anagallis_arvensis

Seems staggering to me, I know I’m a teacher and may be a little biased, but high quality education would seems to be an answer to closing the poverty gap around the country. Pay less get muppetts, it’ll make matters worse. I’d also like to know what they are comparing teachers to and finding they are over paid.

anagallis_arvensis

So using your logic rich areas currently attract poorer quality staff. Really?

yes they do find recruitment much harder. My school is just outside the London Fringe payment area and its much harder to recruit staff.

– is it fair that a teacher based in surrey, for instance should enjoy a poorer quality of life than one based in cumbria.

is it fair that a person doing the same job, often in more challenging areas gets paid less? What if they want to retire nearer to family in Surrey?

druidh
    Free Member