Electric car users…

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 64 total)
  • Electric car users…
  • Premier Icon robbo1234biking
    Subscriber

Looking for some real world experience of electric cars. Have an opportunity to replace the wife’s car with a VW eGolf for less than the current monthly cost of her PCP. The PCP comes to an end soon and this looks like the best replacement option.

It will be used for school run and commuting and any trips we do locally at the weekend. We will still have my car for longer trips and holidays etc. Can get a charger installed for the house and the overnight tariff comes in pretty good at about 1pm’s per mile.

Any real world experience and pros/cons. Still a little concerned about range and issues with recharging in the go although I think that will not be a major issue as we don’t often do 100 miles without returning home!

Premier Icon littledave
    Subscriber

I have been running a Renault Zoe for almost 12 months and love it.
    EVs are very easy to drive.

I get more than 150 miles range which is more than enough.

Charging away from home seems to vary depending on where you live. I am in Scotland where most chargers are on one network, very easy. I believe that the situation elsewhere in the UK is more complex.

Go for it and enjoy.

Premier Icon maxtorque
    Subscriber

If you have somewhere to park with easy access to a power socket (or installed charger) then do it.

You have nothing to loose, and everything to gain!

(4 years with an i3 here 😉

Premier Icon robbo1234biking
    Subscriber

Car will be parked on the drive which runs along the side of the house where the plug in point will be installed so very easy to charge overnight. No issues there.

Premier Icon rone
    Subscriber

All good here. Kia Soul.

Range drops in Winter.

Nice to drive etc. Going on to EDFs cheaper evening and weekend tariff very soon.

Premier Icon bikebouy
    Subscriber