Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Ebay nightmare, what to do now?
  • Joe

Sold a Fuji X100 on Ebay which I’d had for about a year. Sent the warranty card and the original receipt, and off it went via Ebay’s global shipping scheme to Italy.

The buyer contacted me a little while later to say there was a problem with the focus (I’m a cameraman by trade and used the camera most days to grab snaps on location…never noticed a problem) and that it had gone to fuji to be assessed.

She has then contacted me to say the repair bill is 600 euros, and that she wants to send the camera back for a refund… but that she has thrown the receipt and warranty card in the bin!!!!

What do you think Ebay will do? Side with the buyer as usual? This is really insane. Why on earth would you throw away the receipt?

nuke

The buyer contacted me a little while later

How long later from when the camera was delivered?

Cougar

This. Also, has she provided the report for the repair?

Smells fishy to me.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    akira

First thing is I’d ask for the report from Fuji, just to check the repair isn’t for drop damage or something entirely their fault. Damn you cougar

scotroutes

Is the warranty transferable anyway?

orangespyderman

I’m not well experienced with eBay but I would insist that she returns the warranty and receipt with it. Without them the object is worth (quite a bit?) less than it is with them.

Good luck in any case, it does indeed sound fishy.

EDIT : Sorry I’m NOT well experienced with eBay 🙂

njee20
    Free Member

eBay’s T&Cs did say that problems with items sent via the GSP that had issues were covered by them – effectively eBay take on the role of the buyer, and they’re then ‘reselling’ to the end customer. I’d check if that’s still the case.