Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Eating out in Dumfries?
  • sam_underhill

Stopping there for a couple of days on the way through to ride Mabie and Ae (or maybe Drumlanrig) for the first time. Got a bike friendly B&B sorted, so where’s good for food and beer?

RobinL

When we’ve stopped there we’ve always had one meal at Sinos, sort of Asian Fusion cuisine … I think.

We’ve tried both Indian and Chinese resturants, not sure which but there’s lots to choose from.

The Granary and Queensway are lively pubs in town …. but we only visit once a year for a couple of nights so I’m no expert ….. 🙂

somafunk

If you like italian then i can recommend my mate Rab’s restaurant Little Italy, he has very good chefs working for him and tell him “Kenny” told you to eat there, and you want a free beer 😉 – that’ll get him spitting feathers……..

The meat is all locally sourced apart from the italian cuts obviously and the seafood is freshly landed and delivered every morning – he has an excellent reputation for the seafood.

Decent coffee as well and michelle knows how to use the espresso machine.

yetidave
    Free Member

go to the Caverns Arms on Buccleuch Street, nice beer.

clubby

^^^^^^. What he said. (Cavens) Camra pub of the year and the food’s fantastic. Worth booking ahead though, I was there last Thursday and by 7 o’clock people were waiting half an hour for a table.

alandavidpetrie79
    Free Member

Another + 1 for the Caverns Arms.

Enjoy! 🙂

BenjiM

Another caverns fan here. Good food and beer.

prawny

I recommend stopping in at Marburry Smokehouse on the way back from Mabie for bangin fish and chips. Smoked salmon in batter, tried it today, really good. Just go easy on the salt.

alandavidpetrie79
    Free Member

Eating out in Dumfries?

😉

johnmcgowan
    Free Member

Caven Arms is a good shout, The Swan at Kingholm Quay is also worth a try.
    Some ..err…wonderful characters in the pubs in Dumfries, lol.

sam_underhill

Cheers folks.