Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Earning no claims as a named driver
  • mudmuncher

I have an email from Elephant saying I was a named driver on my wife’s policy for 11 years with no claims during this period in my name.

Anyone aware of any insurance companies that will accept this as NCB on a new policy in my name?

Elephant will of course but the are nearly 2X the price of the cheaper online quotes I could find.

maccruiskeen

Look for companies that do NCB ‘mirroring’

Really its just a case of doing the comparison site legwork (whilst being careful with the phone numbers and email addresses you give them as no matter how many boxes you tick you’ll get spammed to buggery)

Some sites ask more/different questions that others and in this case the ones that make the difference are ones that actually ask if you’re a named driver on anyone else’s policy.

As you’re example above though saying they’re giving you a discount and actually being cheaper aren’t the same thing.

A thing to be aware of though is the mirrored no claims is useful this year – next year it’ll probably be trumped by your own accrued NCB… which will of course only be one year. So you might not be able to get as good a deal next year as you can this.

mudmuncher

A thing to be aware of though is the mirrored no claims is useful this year – next year it’ll probably be trumped by your own accrued NCB… which will of course only be one year. So you might not be able to get as good a deal next year as you can this.

Surely if a company accepts the 11 years NCB I have on my wife’s policy then next year I’d have 12 years of my own?

I was thinking of going with Elephant for 1 year to get the NCB transferred over to me then in the following year search for cheaper quotes using the 12yrs NCB I’ll hopefully have by then in my own name.

maccruiskeen

Surely if a company accepts the 11 years NCB I have on my wife’s policy then next year I’d have 12 years of my own?