Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 57 total)
  • Early morning gym sessions – eat before?
  • 13thfloormonk

Basic stuff for the gym go-ers I’m sure but I’m still new to it.

My early morning riding routine is to ride fasted if I have an easy session planned, simple carbs like fruit etc. 30 minutes before if a hard session planned, and a porridge or muesli breakfast for a big day.

I’m guessing I should be treating my gym sessions like a hard session on the bike and having a banana or something beforehand? I’m assuming this helps with the max weight you can push? (I’m aiming for low reps/high weight type stuff to help on the bike).

There’s the small matter of convenience as I want to be up and at the gym early so grabbing something quick (or nothing at all) is easiest.

Ta

johndoh
    Free Member

There is no right or wrong – personally I never eat before anything but the hardest morning session (for me, running more than about 10 miles). Anything less and I’ll just get up and do it. Saying that, my wife constantly bollocks me for not eating / drinking properly.

robbo1234biking

Put some energy powder mix in your gym drink perhaps? Minimises the energy deficit but can be done the night before and in your bag ready to go. Might not make a huge difference to the workout but might make you less hungry and suffer less.

footflaps

I just think its down to individual preference, just figure out what works for you by trial and error.

grantyboy
    Free Member

fuel the night before if it’s a big session. I was fasted then started pushing big weights for me, needed to make sure I was properly fueled night before otherwise I’d fail in the sets

13thfloormonk

OK good stuff, no major consensus so I’ll continue with trial and error for now. I certainly don’t feel weak or especially ravenous when I get back, a good bowl of porridge AFTER workouts and I feel fine.