Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 147 total)
  • e-bike what would you do?
  • z1ppy

M8 of mine bought an e-bike cause he could a while back, and he loves it.. I’ve tried it and have to admit, hills and mud are a complete laugh on it, though downhill is just ok. Another friend of his joined us, and being a complete novice cyclist, with friends in the trade he bought an e-bike too. So this weekend they bring out another friend, who after trying their e-bike’s is basically going to buy one too. So now I’m leading/guiding a group of three e-bikes, on a ‘dumb’ one (as they call it), and am obviously struggling to stay in touch with them on hills.

What do you do? Buy an e-bike, or wait for them to get bored and abandon me…

TBH they’re not going to abandon me and I’m not quite ready for an e-bike, as
    I don’t find their handling inspiring but also love how my current bike rides when the trails point down.. & I do pull away from them, once you get past that 15/16mph limit. BUT the important part here is that if you read reviews, they all say, on a regular 2/3hr route they knock an hour off that route… an hour, that a lot of time that we could use to ride further afield

…the likes of the rather lovely Mondraker eCrafty RR+ does turn my head and make my wallet hide in the corner

ghostlymachine
    Free Member

Wait until they leave you on the climb then turn off and go another way.

I’ve done it leading a social ride.
    Mr Sprinty and his mates rang me about 20 minutes later, completely lost.
    So we worked out where they were and picked them up 20 odd minutes later.

So all that their sprinting got them was half an hour stood next to a park bench on a fire road. While we did 7 or en 8 km of really good single track that wasn’t on the originally planned route.

perchypanther
    Free Member

Get your 3 mates on e-bikes to tow you up the hills?

grizedaleforest