Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Drummers of Singletrack
  • AdamT

I’m a very novice drummer but looking to improve. I have a crappy ekit at home (Alesis DM6, but with a Roland mesh snare). It’s unreliable and bad to play. I keep having to replace the piezos on the cymbals.

At work I have an old Pearl forum acoustic kit. It’s pretty ropey, but infinitely nicer to play. This was bought for our work band for which I’m the bass player.

I need to upgrade my setup at home….

Do I spend lots on a half decent ekit, or do I go another route…

Acoustic kits seem way cheaper. How much quieter are these new mesh heads and low volume cymbals? Whilst I live in a nice detached house, it’s not fair to burden my family with the volume of a full acoustic kit.

So, new Ekit Vs low volume acoustic?

thepodge
    Free Member

If I’m going to have a kit that doesn’t look, sound or feel like a traditional kit then I want it to have 200 silly noises and be able to plug headphones in.

Having said that, my electric kit has sat unused for months and really needs to find its way to eBay.

abingham

Low volume acoustic kits are still not that quiet in my experience and mesh heads feel very different to regular heads. If you have no neighbours or a soundproof space I’d go for a full fat kit.

I have access to a standard kit at the big band myself and my wife play in, as well as a Yamaha Stage Custom kit for gigs but I can’t play it at home due to the volume so I bought one of those DW pad kits for practice.

A nice electric kit like a Roland TD-11 can be had on eBay for not crazy money so that’s probably where I’d be headed.

johndrummer
    Free Member

For home use I’d go electronic – as much as you can afford to spend. Then consider that it’s going to become a clothes horse anyway

BruceWee