Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Dropper post diameters
  • thered

Is there any benefit to a 34.9 dropper in a 34.9 seatpost?
    Is there any issue in shimming a 31.6?

squirrelking
    Free Member

Benefit of shimming is you’re not going to get the same seizing issues. Use a long plastic shim and it’ll be fine, I’ve run a 25.0 Thomson post inside my Trailstar at 26.8 with no issues using a USE (IIRC) plastic shim.

escrs
    Free Member

No issue shimming a 31.6 seatpost for a 34.9 seat tube

Ive been doing for 3+ years now with no issues

Just make sure you use a good shim, i have a USE alloy one

https://www.sjscycles.co.uk/seat-posts/use-seat-post-shim-316-mm-to-349-mm/

honourablegeorge

thered

Is there any benefit to a 34.9 dropper in a 34.9 seatpost?

Bigger tube in theory should make it stiffer, less prone to flex, which might mean it wears less. BikeYoke seemd to think this was the case.

Onzadog
    Free Member

How many frames are using 34.9mm seat posts these days?

thols2

I run 30.8 posts in my bikes (apart from my commuter, which has 27.2 mm). This means that it will always be possible to swap the post to another bike just by changing the shim. Not having to worry about the post seizing to the frame is another benefit – if you use a metal shim, grease the outside of the shim but keep the inside dry to avoid the post slipping.

scruff
    Free Member

Random thread resurrection.

Anyway, any tips on getting a post out thats stuck in a carbon frame, does WD40 work with carbon?
    I was just going to put an old saddle on and whack it with a big hammer.

chiefgrooveguru

You could try freeze spray to get the post to shrink a bit too. I don’t know how much carbon expands with heat but when I had a post stuck in a steel frame I did freeze spray on the post and boiling water on the frame before hitting the post in a few mm with a mallet and then twisting it out with a pair of big G-clamps.

a11y