Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Does putting a coil travel adjuster into air forks turn them into coil forks?
  • TimothyD
    Free Member

If you had some dual air Revelation RL forks, what would putting a Pike coil travel adjuster into them do?

I’m a fork novice, and know next to nothing about the technical aspects to them, and have been confused by seeing rockshox forks which seem to mention having air and coil elements to them.

Can anybody help to enlighten me?

Thanks
    Tim

rob-jackson
    Free Member

no

TimothyD
    Free Member

Right, do you know what would the Pike coil adjuster would do for Revelation RL forks.

greeble
    Free Member

the travel adjuster will only work on a coil fork.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

You need:

The 2 forks to be the same length, and be compatible inside
    To remove all the air gubbins out of the leg
    To replace the whole coil/uturn assembly

If it was an air PIKE and you wanted to put a PIKE coil into it, you’d be fine.

But you’re looking at 2 different forks, of different ages and probably different lengths.

I say forget it!

(but I’m happy to be proved wrong)

EDIT
    Just re-read your post. You want to turn them into AIR uturn forks using a coil adjuster, yes?
    Not a snowballs chance in hell, they are both entirely different mechanisms.

The cheapest way for adding uturn to a non-uturn air fork is to sell them and buy some WITH uturn!!!!

TimothyD
    Free Member

I see.

rob-jackson
    Free Member

nothing

TimothyD
    Free Member

Thanks Peter Poddy.

TimothyD
    Free Member

I may have found what i’m after.

Am I right in thinking that Tim Flook’s old company would find it easy enough to change the travel on some forks from 150-120 to 140-110?

Thanks.

GW
    Free Member

You can stick a Pike U turn spring in a Rev or a Reba (and any other fork RS with the same diameter stanchions) and it’ll work fine as a coil sprung fork.