Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Does anybody have some good info on Colombia? :-)
  • shermer75
    Free Member

I’m heading out there (most likely in June-ish) and I’m hoping for some advice!

I’m planning to spend my first week learning some Spanish by doing a short course. Where is the best place? Bogota is a bit cheaper to fly into but Cartegena looks really nice!! 🙂

Beyond that I have no plans. Where else is good? I’m hoping to be backpacking for around a month, I’m a student so I’m firmly at the thin end of the budget scale. Not taking the bike but would like to maybe hire one out there at some point for a little light touring in the mountains or along the coast. Also keen to find a few out of the way beaches! 🙂

geetee1972
    Free Member

I’m guessing you’ve checked the FCO website for travel advice. There are still quite a few places you absolutely shouldn’t travel to in Colombia.

shermer75
    Free Member

Ps I have heard that Medellin is an option worth considering too. I thought they were joking at first as everything I know about Medellin comes from watching Narcos but apparently it’s actually an amazing place! Any info welcome 🙂

shermer75
    Free Member

I’m guessing you’ve checked the FCO website for travel advice. There are still quite a few places you absolutely shouldn’t travel to in Colombia.

Yep, looking at that now. There’s a few no go areas but they seem mostly due to the rainy season and land slides.

scud
    Free Member

Travelled through south briefly on way from Brazil to Peru/Ecuador, found that once out in to the countryside people were really friendly and chatty, but in the towns you felt like you were being watched, quite a few people armed but in civvy clothes (same for parts of La Paz in Bolivia)

Government still ranks it high risk of terrorism.

https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/colombia