Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • do recovery rides do anything?
  • retro83
    Free Member

About 2 months ago I started training, starting from totally zero (2 years basically no exercise let alone proper cycling).

While my MMP Watts have increased nicely, my legs feel constantly tired and heavy, especially for the first 30 mins when I set out.

Do recovery rides work, and should I be adding a one into my routine?

Or is this a sign my intensity is too high or I’m not warming up/cooling down properly? I’m mainly doing the HIIT and ‘descending pyramid’ workouts on a Wattbike, then either a 1-2 hour ride at the weekend or a swim.

It’s surely not the volume since I’m only doing 3 – 4 hours a week. I’m a total newbie to training btw, all I’ve ever done previously is ‘ride moar’ to get fit so don’t assume i know anything.

Any advice? ta

fifeandy
    Free Member

Yes, recovery rides do something, but for novices you are typically better just taking a rest day.
    Sounds very unlikely based off 3-4hrs/wk, but legs constantly feeling heavy is a sign your overdoing it – not necessarily just on the bike – could be other stress factors not giving enough recovery.

Don’t know what the sessions are like on a Wattbike, but for turbo sessions, I’ll typically do a 15-20min ramped warmup, and 5-10 mins easy spinning to finish.

How many days are you doing Wattbike sessions on? You don’t really want to be doing high intensity more than twice a week, so maybe if you are doing more you could replace with an easy ride there.

retro83
    Free Member

Two high effort wattbike sessions a week, plus a normal 1-2 hr ride at the weekend (which TBH is also high effort since I’m 15kg overweight and unfit 😆 ).

When you say ‘stress factors’, is that just exercise or would it also be lack of sleep? I’m getting shit all sleep, my two year old still wakes us through the night (incidentally also the reason I stopped riding in the first place).

kcr
    Free Member