Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Do I need an eMTB now?
  • esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

Well, I’ve been pedalling MTB’s for 30 years, am 65 this year & my riding mate is 10 years younger than me (& skinny). Last time we were out together over at Swaledale, which was last August thanks to lockdowns he left me for dead on every climb & I was knackered trying to keep up!
    I’ve been doing a reasonable amount of local stuff on the gravel/hybrid but It’s not the same as the Dales round here, & now he’s on about heading out on the MTB’s again as soon as we can. I aint looking forward to it (cos I’ll die) but am missing being on some proper offroad. He says he’s not arsed about hanging round waiting for me but I’ll just feel like a total burden.
    So, at 65 shall I accept that my age has crept up on me & grabbed me round the throat & keep riding what I’m riding or seriously think about going E?

argee

Sounds like it’s a decision you can make on what you want to do, if you want to do Dales stuff, then yes, if you want to continue doing gravel, then no, it’s just a tool to get you doing something that you might not be able, or enjoy doing.

Personally, i went ebike due to numerous injuries, including awaiting hip replacement, it helps not just the range and climbing, but also recovery, which is a massive part of it when you get older, still enjoy my normal bikes, but they don’t get the same distance or play, the ebike also stops me feeling guilty about reducing ranges on the normal ones and just enjoying them for what i can do on them at present.

konanige

Similar decision to mine, only a bit younger. Dodgy knees and more working hours was my reason. Tried FF levo and Levo SL, went with the SL as you’ve still got to put the effort in but it feels like your legs are 30 years younger. Can keep up up with all fit analogue mates and loads of range, but there’s no free rides to the top like the bigger bikes.

daveylad
    Free Member