Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Dalby or Stainburn – where's best?
  • swisstony
    Free Member

Taking some mates new to biking, looking for a good xc loop and hopefully some more challenging stuff too?

ta

Simon

If they’re new to biking, not Stainburn.
    Full red at Dalby is long, but you can cut it short.
    If it’s trail centre stuff you’re after Gisburn would be better.

Oggles
    Free Member

For a ‘proper’ XC loop – Dalby red.

Stainburn is great, very short, but full on (ie none of the fire road linkage stuff). There’s stuff on the other side of the road, Norwood, but I would be wanting to do a few loops before I felt like I’d had a good ride. Stainburn ticks all the boxes for challenging though! I prefer it to dalby but wouldn’t recommend it for complete noobs.

swisstony
    Free Member

thanks, they’re not complete novices, stainburn sounds good plus its an hour closer to me!

Hadn’t thought of Gisburn, will look into that

Mugboo

If it Sunday your talking about then it Dig day up at Stainburn so plenty of regulars to point you in the right direction.

Theres enough riding for 1/2 a day. Just don’t expect to be able to ride everything first time. It’s all loops, so ride each a few times, each time hopefully riding things you missed/ bottled the first time..

http://www.singletraction.co.uk/projects.php?page=Stainburn

hammy7272
    Free Member

Dalby for sure out of the two. I took some noobs there and they loved it. Not sure they would have liked Stainburn it is too short and some bits quite tough.

If Gisburn is not too far that is perfect for noobs with some great blacks.

Let us know what happens!

Pook

I’ve got some vids knocking about somewhere…..

Pook

here you go

Stainburn:

Black

[video]http://www.vimeo.com/10976671[/video]

Red + Norwood Edge

[video]http://www.vimeo.com/10282487[/video]

Dalby:

[video]http://www.vimeo.com/6923183[/video]