Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Daft Roadie question!
  • pc2017
    Free Member

Hi everyone,

After years of MTB I have decided to swing my leg over a road bike for when at our holiday home in Spain, I managed to get a near new second hand Cube road bike (covid bike!!), the problem is I am a complete noob with road bikes.

The bike came with clip in LOOK pedals on it, my questions is will any road style shoes work with LOOK? I have seen some Northwave force 2 shoes reduced online but before purchasing want to make sure they are compatible or if I need to buy anything else.

I still use flats on my MTB so clip in is a new world to me!!

Thanks everyone, have a good sunday.

kirky72
    Free Member

You need look cleats, they fit the same shoes as Shimano but needs to be the SL fittings I think they call it basically larger more spaced out the original Shimano type.

weeksy

Just use flats. Unless racing it’s just a faff.
    You can ride, get off, walk properly etc.

scaredypants

weeksy is right, unless you’re in a really mountainous area and wanting to ride full-on or you’re planning multi-hour rides. If you normally ride MTB in SPDs, use them.

If you want to use the Look pedals you need 3-bolt soles (and of cousrse a set of look cleats – I think there’s a small difference between at least 2 types of Look cleats/pedals so check what you’ve got before buying to match)

akira

Road cleats are a standard three point fitting, clears vary by brand but all fit the same way. Don’t use flats on a road bike, you can’t spin properly and they make it feel a bit ponderous, on MTBs they make sense as you can take a foot out and rearrange your positioning.

airvent
    Free Member

I just use flats on my road bike.

Ioneonic

I use flats on my road bikes as well.

lunge

Mutual can clearly use flats on a road bike, but clips are better, MTB are fine but proper road pedals and cleats are the right solution.