Viewing 39 posts - 1 through 39 (of 39 total)
  • Cycle to work scheme cyclocross bike de jour.
  • pictonroad

Getting old, the chaps are getting into these, I could ride it to work as well.

Where should I look:
    Evans – Pinnacle look ok
    Planet X – Few on there but I have no experience of SRAM gear.
    ?

Is there a definitive answer to the under £1k cyclocross bike question?

Cheers

James

cyclistm
    Free Member

Boardman

cokie

Pinnacle Arkos.
    Evans are easy to deal with and have nice customer service.

pictonroad

No Halford on our bike to work.

ampthill

Genesis Croix de Fer 10? £850

pictonroad

No steel,not got on with steel bikes off road.

Bigmantrials

Going to recommend the bike I have, Planet X London Road, really impressed with mine!

rhayter

Bromley Bike Company has a Salsa Warbird 3 for a stupidly low price. £799 I think. It’s lovely. If it’s your size, it’d be a cracker.

crashtestmonkey
    Free Member

C2W for monthly payments or effective price reduction?

http://www.ukbikesdepot.com/m117b0s862p11647/SARACEN_Hack_2_Cyclocross_Bike_2014

similar saving to C2W if youre a basic rate tax payer. Loving mine.

And the 56 measures 54 FYI.

mtbtomo
    Free Member

I have an Arkose 4 and a Saracen Hack. The Saracen Hack is a bit of a beast weight wise, and feels a bit sluggish, so its been on the turbo ever since I got dropped on the club run.

Only had the Arkose a short while and its a 105 spec rather than Tiagra on the Hack but on the road it feels a lot zippier.

The Arkose 3 in green would be within the cyclescheme limit.

alandavidpetrie79
    Free Member

Evans are easy to deal with

True.

have nice customer service.

Not in my experience de jour.

mtbtomo
    Free Member

The guys/gals in Chill Factore have always been ok with me. Taken a couple of items back for warranty and they’ve been fine.

I haven’t really needed to ask much of them, so I don’t know what their in-depth knowledge is like.

DezB
    Free Member