Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Contractors, Late payment of invoices..
  • Teetosugars
    Free Member

I’m pretty new to this, and up until now, I’ve always been paid on time. I’m on 45 days from month end.
    Not great, but it’s kinda panned out now I’m in the system.
    The last couple of months, they’ve been 10 days late in paying, so, do I envoke the 5% rule regarding late payment, or just chalk it down to experience?

allthegear
    Free Member

If you let them, they will do it again and again…

Rachel

chakaping
    Free Member

What do you think the explanation is?

Usually a change of personnel in accounts payable in my experience.

I tend to approach my contact at the company and point out the problem before slapping interest on the bill.

Edric64
    Free Member

Don’t let them get away with it or they will get later and later and take the pee even more

brooess
    Free Member

+1 for having a conversation about it first, let them know they’re late, find out why. If you then want to add interest payments, tell them you will first…

99% of the time when things like this happen I find some open communications can help avoid an enormous amount of emotion, and talking about it can actually improve the relationship massively

leffeboy

As above. We were late paying one company a few times in a row so they started calling us just before it was due. It works is and now we tend to get them in time

kcal

conversation I’d say first before going off on the penalty notice.

Do you go through an umbrella outfit ? chat to them as well? change in personnel probably or someone spinning things out.

I have had to query a payment delay only once – the guy had forgotten (genuinely – he’s pretty laid back… otherwise it’s all been spot on the nail (or whatever the expression is) )

nemesis
    Free Member

You should of course talk to them and then if it still keeps happening apply penalty charges as set out in your contract.