Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Concrete slab for horse..
  • elzorillo
    Free Member

My mother-in-law has decided I will construct a 12m x 4m concrete slab in front of the stable to stop the horse getting its feet muddy in winter!

So.. I work in IT.. never done a hard days physical work in 30 years.

My plan is as follows.. please tell me where I’m going wrong (I cant dispose of the MIL before anyone suggests it.

Step 1. Dig a hole (with a hired mini digger) slightly bigger than the actual size. Will a foot deep do? It’s on clay that sets rock hard in summer and is a slippery mess in winter.

Step 2. Surround hole with wood.. I’m thinking old scaffolding planks? and set with some level to the required height.

Step 3. Source some hardcore? No idea what or where from at present. Stamp hardcore down by driving over it in hired digger.

Step 4. Put down some of that rebar stuff? no idea on size or if it’s even needed. Balance it on bricks so it sort of sits in the middle of concrete depth.

Step 5. I guess (and it is a guess), 10 cubic Mtr of concrete with some sort of fibre in (purely because concrete supply place said it’s the done thing if it’s for horses) to a depth of about 20cm. (is that thick enough? too thick??).

Step 6. Wear wellies and wonder around in concrete as it’s poured, spreading it into corners etc.. level with big bit of wood.

Step 7. Await further instructions from MIL

bruneep

3.1 place MIL under rebar

Sui
    Free Member

sounds like over-kill to me, it’s only a slab for a horse. 6″ Concrete on top hardcore will do it. Only need a rebar if you haven’t put a substrate down.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    johndoh
    Free Member

I’d kindly ask her to find someone else (who knows what to do) to do it for her and pay for it.

zanelad
    Free Member

Get a man in. Quicker and better than DIY, especially if you’ve never done it before.