Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • coil shocks
  • trickydisco
    Free Member

I’m seriously considering ditching my afr shock on my enduro (09) and getting a VanRC.

Will it really be like night and day? What spring would ppl recommend for a 70kg rider? (according to tftuned it’s 424lb spring)

.. also does this video really demonstrate anything (seeing as it’s static)?

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQDCUa-KIyw[/video]

off to les arcs in 3 weeks and got told by some guy in the peaks that all the guys he rode with who had air shocks all ‘cooked’ and couldn’t handle the amount of descending

tracknicko
    Free Member

what the **** is that video menat to show? which spooner made that?

rucknar
    Free Member

I’m no expert but allthough coil shocks are considered better performing due to the linear compression, testing a bike unloaded is useless as it doesn’t replicate real world conditions.

xiphon
    Free Member

ha ha ha ha @ the youtube vid.

What a plonker.

tracknicko
    Free Member

i drop this bike and…. dunk

then i drop this completely different bike and… dunk.

now lets see it in slow mo. derduuunnnnkkk

wtf?

LoCo
    Free Member

eh!? the rebound is stupidally quick on the rear air shock or the piston bolt has broken off as happens with those shocks, shows very little 😀

MrCrushrider
    Free Member

ha what a tit! great video!

tracknicko
    Free Member

id say it wasnt either of those two ideas loco…

I_Ache
    Free Member

Well for a start the Enduro SL and the Pitch might be very similar frames but they have different rockers so it isnt an exact and totally fair comparison. Also as pointed out in the video the Pitch is heavier and will fall to the ground faster and be less likely to bounce.