Cheapest bike I’ve ever bought…

Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Cheapest bike I’ve ever bought…
  • wiggles

After not having a bike(well I have a 90s Raleigh with not existant brakes that weighs 3 tons) for over a year due to having to sell them all for financial reasons I bought something to take to ride with the kids on holiday in Devon next week…

Its a carrera crossfire hybrid with 8 speed gears and mechanical discs and it sucks but I have a few spare parts lying around I can make it a bit better with a hopefully get back into riding again.

My last few bikes were pretty high spec as I used to work in the bike industry so I have been spoilt and this is very much slumming it for me!

I want to hear stories of shit bikes that gave you the chance to ride and enjoy bikes again to see that I’m not mad just wasting money….

Premier Icon tomhoward
    Subscriber

£60 (new) Apollo Vortice BMX from when I was a student. More fun per £ has been had on that than any bike I’ve had, before or since

orangeboy

Ive got a old early 90s rockhopper that was going free. I use it to run errands and tame local rides it’s a blast.

You can have fun on any bike it does not have to be a modern super bike.

Just enjoy getting out and riding

Premier Icon Northwind
    Subscriber

Nothing shit about it but I bought a Soul for £250 off here, awesome. If I want a proper shitter I’ve got my 1990 Carrera Krakatoa Flex in the attic.

Premier Icon Pik n Mix
    Subscriber

I’m currently in a financial downturn and utterly miserable that I can’t ride after selling all my bikes. So I do indeed hope that there is a fun bargaintastic new one in my immediate future.

Premier Icon Bregante
    Subscriber

90’s fully rigid Kona hahanna single speed bought off eBay for £120. It was too small for me but handled like an oversized BMX and I commuted on it for a year before buying a karate monkey which fitted me better. It was bloody brilliant.